Mizen Head West Cork
Mizen Head Signal Station is open to the public for the first time since it was completed in 1910. The Mizen Vision Visitor Centre in the Keeper's House and the Engine Room, the famous Suspension Bridge, the 99 Steps and the views up the South and West Coasts combined with the exhilaration and excitement of the wild Atlantic waves and ancient tortured rocks guarantee a unique and authentic experience.
In any weather the Magic of the Mizen is spellbinding. 206.jpg (7485 bytes)Mizen Vision the Mizen Head Signal Station Visitor centre has been open since June 1st, 1994. In April 1993 the fog signal station was demanned and went automatic. A local co-operative, Mizen Tourism, was formed to develop the location into a visitor centre to create rural employment. In July 1993 a lease was signed with the Irish Lights and the exciting Mizen Vision! became a reality.
There are spectacular views on the Bridge 207.jpg (7086 bytes)and at the end of the peninsula and the houses have been equipped with an audio-visual room, a map and archive room; the Keeper's kitchen and bedroom have been retained and there is a bird and sea watch room. Imagination takes over in the Mizen environment cave, the Fastnet Room, the Underwater Room and the Storm Room. You are very welcome to the Mizen! Don't miss it!